front brake locks up

Growler

Gold forum user
My brakes lock up and I don't know why. I recently was out for a short drive and felt like the brakes were dragging. I stopped and they seemed to free up. when I got back to the garage (a mile or two away) they were locked up again (I could drive - creating heat and smell, but could not push the car). I jacked the car up and found that I could turn the rears, but that both fronts were unable to turn by hand. Lightly pressed the brake pedal and it immediately freed up to the point I could rotate the wheels while up and it rolled it easily. I have a recently rebuilt master (original single circuit) and servo. What else could it be? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Josh

Forrest39

Gold forum user
CAT Member
sounds like a sticky booster, but very odd that the rear brakes aren't stickling too. Perhaps try bypassing the booster to see if the problems persists?
Cheers, -Kevin

Growler

Gold forum user
Sticky boister

We just rebuilt the boister... It seems to slide fine but does it take time to work properly like a break in period? How would 1 bypass ? Just disconnect vacuum hose?

michael-king

Gold forum user
CAT Member
I'll go with perished front brake hose, they will look fine on the outside but internally are deteriorated. They will work OK initially then you push the pedal and they collapse inside and don't let fluid return keeping the brake on... They will then sometimes release giving inconsistent lockup, the brake calliper stays clamped

Forrest39

Gold forum user
CAT Member
I'll go with perished front brake hose, they will look fine on the outside but internally are deteriorated. They will work OK initially then you push the pedal and they collapse inside and don't let fluid return keeping the brake on... They will then sometimes release giving inconsistent lockup, the brake calliper stays clamped