Scary ride

SIV Allan

Silver forum user
CAT Member
My Mk1a Tiger has stock springs and Konis.

I noticed a problem with the suspension while driving home across a messed up stretch of interstate in the southwest last August.

If the grade shifted from level (more or less) to a down slope to the right or left the car would feel like it went airborne.

If the grade shifted back suddenly the car became more difficult to handle.

The same thing occurs on the rural 2 lane roads that are crowned for drainage.

Can anyone provide information on how to cure this problem?

Do the symptoms indicate a need for new springs all around?

I have very little experience with Tiger suspensions and would very much appreciate any input.

Thanks in advance,

Allan Ballard

TigerBlue

Gold forum user
Tires?

What tires and wheels are on the Tiger. Sounds to me just like a stock tiger with factory wheels and tires. Not good! Koni's cannot help if there is no grip in the tires.

Rick

PS Moved from Stock to Personalized because of the Koni shocks.

SIV Allan

Silver forum user
CAT Member
Hi - wheels are repro 13 inch LAT70s all around with 185/60 front tires
and 205/60 on the rear.

Thanks!

michael-king

Gold forum user
CAT Member
Hi - wheels are repro 13 inch LAT70s all around with 185/60 front tires
and 205/60 on the rear.

Thanks!

Must have a decent bit of nose down stance on those tyres... Have you thought of going 185/70 on the front?

mwood

Gold forum user
I'd want to know alignment specs and condition of all ball joints (including steering arm ends), for starts :)

0neoffive

Gold forum user
CAT Member
INSPECT EVERYTHING, NOW!

My Mk1a Tiger has stock springs and Konis.

I noticed a problem with the suspension while driving home across a messed up stretch of interstate in the southwest last August.

If the grade shifted from level (more or less) to a down slope to the right or left the car would feel like it went airborne.